Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere: Christ at the Checkpoint Webinar

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere: Examining the Palestinian and African-American contexts 
A conversation with world renown theologian Willie Jennings 

Saturday 1st of August 20:00 Jerusalem time (13:00 EST, 17:00 GMT)

Dear Participants and Partners,

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.”- Martin Luther King Jr.

Increasingly, Palestinians are attempting to better reflect on their own circumstances by studying other contexts that have faced and are facing systems of oppression and injustice. This is true both politically and theologically. 

Therefore, we are pleased to announce a new series that will bring together theologians and thinkers from different countries and contexts in order to explore different themes together.

In recent years we are seeing a new movement in the United States that has ignited a strong interest for Palestinian theologians to engage with African-American theologians in the United States and study their work concerning injustice, oppression and liberation. It is inspiring both older and younger generation Palestinian theologians to examine their own context in a new light.

This webinar will focus on the following themes:

Some similarities and differences between both contexts.
How has the Bible been weaponized to suppress and control groups of people? How has theology been used to justify racism?
What opportunities of solidarity and commonality do we have together? What can we do to move forward?

It is our pleasure to invite you to our upcoming webinar: Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere: Examining the Palestinian and African-American contexts. Register here.